Historic Parks & Gardens

Historic parks and gardens are identified by English Heritage and are listed in a national register. The designation is non-statutory.


Sites are graded using the same symbols as for listed buildings (i.e. Grade I sites of exceptional historic interest; Grade II sites of special historic interest; Grade II* sites of great historic interest). These gradings are independent of the grading of any listed buildings which falls within their boundaries. The grading reflects the importance of the garden or park concerned, in comparisons with other gardens or parks in England as a whole.


List of Registered Historic Parks and Gardens

Name and Grade   When Designated
Amport Park (Grade II) 1984                               
Awbridge Danes (Grade II) 1993
Broadlands, Romsey (Grade II*) 1984
Embley Park (Grade II) 1984
Houghton Lodge (Grade II*) 1984
Marsh Court, Stockbridge (Grade II*) 1984
Mottisfont Abbey (Grade II) 1984
Sir Harold Hillier Gardens and Arboretum, Ampfield (Grade II)                                                  1997